Community Candidates Make the Ballot in Race for Mayor, Sheriff, Legislature

pictured above: COMMUNITY CANDIDATES: From top left, Kimberly Miller-Beaty, candidate for Sheriff; LeCandice Durham, candidate for Mayor; Samuel A. Herbert, candidate for 1st Legislative District;India Walton, from bottom left: candidate for MayorDominque Calhoun candidate for 1st Legislative District; Mayor Byron  Brown, incumbent; Myles Carter, candidate for Sheriff, 1st District Legislator   Howard Johnson,

The designating petitions have been filed  by candidates seeking to get on the ballot for the upcoming June 22 Primary Election.  Here are the results of community candidates who made the ballot and the incumbents they are challenging.

The race for Erie County Sheriff will have 3 candidates running for the sheriff’s position. Although candidates Kimberly Miller-Beaty and Myles Carter’s petitions were challenged, they survived an effort by party loyalists to knock them off the ballot.

The same push by the Democratic Party machine to file objections against candidates in the 1st Legislative District and in the Buffalo Mayoral race failed as well. There are at least two challengers to the incumbents in both of those races. 

•LeCandice Durham and India Walton will challenge Mayor Byron Brown in the June 22nd Primary. It remains unclear whether mayoral candidate, Scott Wilson is still in the race, as his petition was specifically objected to as well. 

The candidates for the 1st Legislative District are: the incumbent, Legislator Howard Johnson and challengers Dominque Calhoun and Samuel A. Herbert.

In the political campaign for Buffalo City Court, two challengers, attorneys Joel Moore and Joe Jarumbek filed a signature petition to challenge the three endorsed Democratic Party candidates, Judge Diane Wray, who is running for re-election, Rebecca Towns, attorney; and newly appointed judge, Phillip Dabney. It appears that candidates Moore and Jarumbek will have to defend their signatures and their election campaigns in court as the party loyalists who filed general objections to their signatures, also filed specific objections alluding to some type of fraud and allegations of an insufficient amount of signatures remaining to qualify them to make the ballot. 

Attorneys Moore and Jarumbek should have their day in court over the next few days. We did not have those results at press time.

The deadline to register to vote is May 28 for   the Primary Election  which is June 22.

You can register at the Erie County Board of Elections, 134 West Eagle St. Call  858-8891 for more information.