Annual Unlimited Possibilities Overcoming Poverty Ministry Inc. Gala

The phrase “unlimited possibilities” takes on an even greater significance when the 13th annual  Unlimited Possibilities Overcoming Poverty Ministry Inc. honors 45 outstanding women. The premiere gala in honor of Women’s History Month,  had to be cancelled last year due to the COVID pandemic. The new date has now been set for Saturday October 16, 2021 at 7 p.m. at the Buffalo Niagara Convention Center. The theme for this royal affair is “Celebrating Women Touching the World.” 

Leah Daniel, Yvonne Evans, Laura Smith, Dr. Jamie Smith, Theresa E. Pope and Regina Calhoun are the general chairpersons. The purpose of this annual awards dinner is to celebrate National Women’s History Month with the recognition of women and to spotlight their achievement, community service, professionalism, and exemplary leadership. Honorees  will receive  the “Angel Touching the World” Award. The organization’s first “Maya Angelou Still I Rise Award” in honor of a powerful inspiration from one of the wisest women of our time,  literary legend Maya Anaglou, will be presented to honoree Crystal Barton. 

Keynote: Aitina Fareed Cooke

The Keynote Speaker is  Aitina Fareed-Cooke, an award-winning Photographer and hip hop artist also known as “A.I.”   She is the first female to be signed to one of Christian hip hop’s notable labels, God Over Money.

Shannon Smith, a reporter for WIVB Channel 4 and Karys Belger a reporter for WGRZ Channel 2 will be award presenters. Financial Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 will be given to six enrolled college young women at the awards dinner.

This year’s honorees are women from all walks of life that represent a beautiful rainbow.

They are : Gloria Babbs, Crystal Barton, Pastor Jackie Ross Brown, Felicia Beard, Trinisha S. Brown, LaTasha D. Bulluck, Madison Carter, Petrina Hill-Cheatom, Schurron Cowart, Rashida Dowell, Jenine Dunn, Brenda David, Francellia Fitzgerald, Clintonia D. Elmore, Tiffany Nalls-Ford, Dr. Ida Gibson, Nikki Hicks, Jo Ann B. Hudson, Misty Garrett, Teena M. Jones, Brittany LaBella, Evette Phillips, Jocelyn Guthrie, Dr. Juanita Hunter, Rosemary Hicks,  Samantha Hutchins, Falonia LaMar, Kimberly Manney, Pastor Debra Morse, Gabrielle Mosher, Denise Mullen, Vernice Norman, Paula Prince,  Deborah A. Porter, Dr. Ramona Reynolds, Nicole O. Staley, Tameka Thomas, Pasha L. Turner, SyntviaTaylor, Rebecca Town, Jazmin Wiggins, Dr. Tonja M. Williams, Randa R. Welch, and Bettye W. Wyatt

The late Mother Nancy Manney’s Family will receive the organizations fourth Memorial Award in her honor.  Proceeds from the event help support female college students from a poverty background who are enrolled in college.

Nellie B. King is the President and Founder of Unlimited Possibilities Overcoming Poverty Ministry Inc. “I am eternally grateful  the Lord gave me the vision and people who stuck with me  over the years, to make this  happen,” she said.

 No Tickets will be sold at the event.