48th Annual Black Achievers Gala Goes Virtual

On Saturday, October 3, Black Achievers, Inc., will honor 36 outstanding individuals when it hosts the 48th Annual Black Achievers Virtual Awards Celebration. 

SPECIAL AWARD RECIPIENTS: from left: D. Boswell, K. Saxon, M. Brown, N. Fortson, R. Jones and T. Staples.

This week Black Achievers CEO, Herbert L. Bellamy, Jr. released the names of six special award recipients.  Donald K. Boswell, President and CEO of Buffalo Toronto Public Broadcasting, will receive the Media Award.  M&T Chairman and CEO René F. Jones will accept the organization’s Award of Excellence.  Tanya M. Staples, a Senior Director with Say Yes Buffalo, will be honored with the Mayor’s Youth Award.  Juneteenth President Marcus O. Brown will receive the Community Service Award.  Mrs. Karen Saxon, a music educator, director and performer extraordinaire, will be presented with the Irene Bellamy Musician’s Award.  The Homecoming Award will be presented to former Buffalo resident Nicholas K. Fortson.

The 48th Annual Black Achievers Virtual Awards Celebration will begin streaming on Saturday, October 3rd at 8 pm on the Black Achievers website (buffaloblackachievers.org) and on WKBW-TV’s website (www.wkbw.com) between 8:00 pm and 11:00 pm. 

The Black Achievers event will also be streamed on all social media platforms including: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and LiveStream.  The virtual event will also be broadcast on WKBW-TV Channel 7 on Sunday October 4th between 12:00 pm and 2:oo pm.