Cuomo Announces WNY Included in Five Regions to Begin Phase 4 of Reopening Today July 1 Malls, Gyms and Theaters Not Included

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo today announced that five regions – Central New York, the Finger Lakes, the Mohawk Valley, the North Country and the Southern Tier – are on track to enter Phase IV of reopening on Friday. New York State issued guidance for Phase IV, which will allow low-risk indoor and outdoor arts and entertainment, film and TV production, higher education and professional sports without fans.

The governor also announced that in Phase IV of reopening, social gatherings of up to 50 people will be allowed and indoor religious gatherings will be allowed at up to 33 percent of the indoor site’s capacity.

“Our approach has been vindicated and the phased reopening based on facts is working,” Governor Cuomo said. “I said from day one that the theory the virus should be handled politically can’t be done. The virus doesn’t respond to political theory – it responds to science and data.

Phase Four no longer includes shopping malls, gyms or movie theaters. Gov. Andrew Cuomo says that in order for large malls to reopen, they’ll be required to install air filtration systems that can remove COVID-19 particles.

  • Higher Education
  • Low-Risk Outdoor Arts & Entertainment
  • Low-Risk Indoor Arts & Entertainment
  • Media Production
  • Professional Sports Competitions With No Fans

For help determining whether or not your business is eligible to reopen, click here to use the reopen lookup tool.