Pridgen Unanimously Re-elected President of the Common Council

Additional Political Appointments, Reappointments Announced 

In addition to the historic inauguration of Barbara Miller Williams as the first Black  woman   City of Buffalo Comptroller and legislator April Baskin being  unanimously re-elected Chair of the  Erie County Legislature, there have been a few other notable appointments and reappointments. 

Ellicott District representative Darius Pridgen was unanimously re-elected Common Council   president last Thursday. Pridgen said it was  humbling to be in a position to help make Buffalo a better place, saying, “one of the biggest goals we have is trying to ensure that all ships that want to rise, are able to rise in the City of Buffalo.” Pridgen was first elected to his Ellicott District seat in 2011 and has served as president since 2014.

• Legislator Howard Johnson   was again named Chair of the Public Safety Committee for 2020. Johnson will also Chair the Economic Development Committee, while serving as Vice Chair of the Finance & Management/Budget Committee and the Community Enrichment Committee.

University District Council Member Rasheed N.C. Wyatt  was  appointed the   Common Council’s new Finance Committee Chairman.

•Masten District Council Member Ulysees O. Wingo, Sr.  was appointed the Council’s chairman  of the Civil Service Committee.

 Other recent committee chairmanship appointments included: Lovejoy Council Member Bryan J. Bollman, education committee; Fillmore Council Member Mitchell Nowakowski, Claims; Delaware  Council Member Joel Feroleto, Legislation; and North Council Member Joseph Golombek, Development. David A. Rivera, Niagara Council Member, was re-elected Majority Leader of the Council and South Council Member Christopher P. Scanlon was elected President Pro Tem.