April N.M. Baskin Re-Elected Chair of the Erie County Legislature

Unanimously elected by her colleagues, Baskin is the youngest person to serve as Chair Erie County Legislator April N. M. Baskin, D-Buffalo, was unanimously re-elected Chair of the Legislature on Thursday during the annual reorganizational session of the Erie County Legislature. 

First elected in 2017, Legislator Baskin was chosen to serve as the Majority Leader immediately upon being sworn into office. She was again elected Majority Leader during the Legislature’s annual reorganization in January 2019. This will be her first full term as Chair. With the departure of former Chairman Peter Savage III in April of 2019, Baskin was chosen by colleagues to become Chair for the remainder of 2019. As of last Thursday, she was reappointed to this leadership post, this time with a unanimous bi-partisan vote of all of her legislature colleagues. Baskin has made history as the youngest Chairperson in the history of the Erie County Legislature. As Chair, Baskin will preside over and maintain order during legislative sessions, and work with her colleagues to set the legislature’s agenda for 2020. 

“My goal as Chair is to ensure open and transparent government and to provide efficient, effective, and reliable resources to enhance the health, safety, and quality of life for Erie County residents,” said Erie County Legislature Chair Baskin.