On Friday November 22, The Crews Group and S & J foundation presents their 8th annual 2019 Changemakers 30 Under 30 Awards at Shea’s 710 Theater, 710 Main Street. Doors open at 6 p.m. and the show begins  at 8 p.m. This annual event celebrates and honors some of WNY’s most prolific & dynamic young professionals. It will be an evening of special musical performances, tributes and more!

Since 2011, the CHANGEMAKERS 30 Under 30 Awards has honored over 200 young professionals under the age of 30 who continue to make an impact in the community and their respective areas of work. It has become the premier networking and fundraising event, drawing some of the best and brightest young professionals in or from Western New York.

“We are once again thrilled to honor another great group of young professionals who have demonstrated professional and philanthropic excellence, integrity and selflessness,” said Jamil Crews, founder and executive producer. “Each year we are excited to recognize these individuals and we are thrilled to introduce the new class of honorees.”

The 2019 honorees in the following categories include: 

Business / Entrepreneurship:  Aaron Osborne, Owner- Wings Kings Franchise; Latina Santana, Owner-Beauty Marque Salon ;  Stewart Fonville, Owner- Mobile Eco Steam;  Trenton Harris, Owner – T. Harris K9 Training.

Community / Political Engagement:  Deyron Tabb, Community Development and Project Manager; Taisha Elizabeth St. Jean, Miss Buffalo 2019 and Legislative Assistant – Buffalo Common Council;  Kathleen Achibar, Deputy Press Secretary – Crystal People-Stokes;  Pedro Gonzalez, Chief of Staff -April Baskin; Jasmine Westbrook, Teacher.

Education:  Jasmine Fluker, Outreach Specialist- Northland Workforce Training Center  Amber Whiteside, Assistant Director – Boys and Girls Club ;  Megan Lewis, Community School Navigator – Say Yes;  Kirby Briggs, Community School Navigator – Say Yes;   Jasmine Davis, Managing Director – Teach For America.

 Media / Arts / Entertainment:  Jazlyn Porter, Film and Television Production Coordinator 

Madison Carter, News Anchor – WKBW;  Karys Belger, Multimedia Journalist and Reporter – WGRZ;   Angel Brock, New Producer – Spectrum News; Cameron Owens, News Producer – WIVB;  Shannon Smith, Journalist and Fill In Achor -WIVB; Ronald Benning, Musician and Music Director;  Aime Mukedi,Jr. President – The Shift and Crew, LLC.

 Science / Humanities: Dr. Charnelle Lewis, Nurse Anesthetist; Nigel Brown, Chief Technology Officer; Derek Brim, Electrical Engineer.

Sports / Health & Wellness:  Nicholas Pellam-Cheeves, Mental Health Clinician; Julissa Vazquez, Doula; Riessa Johnson, Crisis Counseling Specialist;  Latajana Hall, Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Addiction Specialist; Polo Kerber, NBA and NFL Sports Marketing Rep.

Scholarship Recipients include:  Naki Nanor – Senior Leonardo da Vinci High School;  Jasmine Hernandez Senior at Leonardo da’Vinci High School; Devioner Murphy- Senior at East High School.

In addition to the 30 individuals being honored at the event, a number of special awards will be given out ,including; the Outstanding Alumni Award being awarded to Shatorah Donovan, Chief Diversity Officer for the City of Buffalo and Changemakers 30 Under 30 Class of 2012 and the Shannon D. Smith Award of Courage being given Jami Reese, a Buffalo native with an incredible story on how she beat cancer before the age of 30.

The night will also feature performances from some of Western New York’s most talented musicians, including Kimera Lattimore, Drea D’Nur, Will Holton, Maya By Name, Bubba, DeMarco Ogletree, Erinn Benning, Marquis “10 Thousand” Burton, and more.

Also, at the event, thousands of dollars in scholarships will be given out to several area high school students.

This event was made possible by The Roxsci Writes Scholarship Foundation in partnership with the S&J Foundation and sponsored by Chairwoman of the Erie County Legislature April Baskin, African American Cultural Center, Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus, Bank on Buffalo, Pure Podiatry of WNY, Masten District Councilman Ulysees Wingo Sr. , Roger and Betsy Maxwell-Strother, Charles and Janice Ferguson, PH.D 

For more information  email or visit online at