City Honors Seniors Named Jackie Robinson Scholars

Two City Honors seniors have been named Jackie Robinson Foundation) Scholars. Mary Tess Wright and Alexis Marshall will be awarded $7,000 per year for their four years of college for a total of $28,000 each.

Mary Tess will attend Morgan State University to major in mathematics with a concentration in statistics.     

Alexis will attend Columbia University as a neuroscience and public health major. 

As Jackie Robinson Scholars, the students will attend a New Scholar Orientation, July 11-14, 2019 at the University of Texas at Dallas, an annual Mentoring and Leadership Conference (the first weekend in March, each year) in New York City, and a service trip to Africa in the summer of 2020.

The Jackie Robinson Scholar program  is awarded to 50 outstanding high school graduates around the nation each year who plan to earn a baccalaureate degree from an accredited, four-year college or university, addresses the financial needs of college students and provides extensive hands-on mentoring and support services. Once chosen from a national selective application process, Jackie Robinson Foundation Scholars receive a generous four-year grant to attend the undergraduate school of their choice and enroll in the foundation’s  celebrated “42 Strategies for Success Curriculum”.  Additional fellowships are given to the Robinson Scholars to pursue opportunities to work and study abroad (Rachel Robinson International Fellowship) and for post-graduate education (Extra Innings Fellowship).